Survey & Regulatory

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Every skilled nursing center certified to provide care to Medicare and ​Medicaid beneficiaries must comply with the Federal Requirements of Participation. These requirements are contained in the Federal Regulations for Nursing Facilities​, which also state each center must comply with all applicable Federal, State, and local laws, regulations, and codes with accepted professional standards.  ​​​​

AHCA/NCAL’s regulatory team ensures m​ember centers receive the guidance and resources needed to understand and develop systems to meet requirements and regulations that fall under the Requirements of Participation, survey preparedness, emergency preparedness, fire and life safety, payroll-based journal (PBJ), and ​the ​CMS Five-Star Quality Rating System on Nursing Home Compare.​ 

For the latest information on the Requirements of Participation, visit ahcancalED at


​Additional Information

 Latest Updates

Updated Five-Star Quality Measure Predictor Tool Released on LTC Trend Tracker
Starting December 19, LTC Trend Tracker users have access to a tool that shows what is determining their Five-Star Quality Measure ratings and how they can improve. Read More

​Phase 3 Interpretive Guidance – Delayed
Phase 3 of the Requirements of Participation (RoP) went into effect on November 28, 2019. However, as the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) announced in a memo (QSO-20-03-NH) released on November 22, 2019, CMS will not be releasing the interpretive guidance (IG) for Phase 3 until the second ​quarter of 2020.  Read More

Helpful Emergency Preparedness Resources
November marks, among other observances, National Preparedness Month. National Preparedness Month, recognized each September, provides an opportunity to remind us that we all must prepare ourselves and our families now and throughout the year.  Read More